Anthony Rizzo wins Gold Glove Award

It’s the second Gold Glove for the Cubs first baseman.

The Rawlings Gold Gloves were awarded tonight and Cubs‘ first baseman Anthony Rizzo won the Gold Glove for National League first baseman. But he wasn’t the only one, as Rizzo tied in the voting with Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman. So both of them get to take home the award.

The winners were determined by a combination of a vote of major league managers and coaches and “a sabermetric index provided by the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR).”

The award was the second Gold Glove for Rizzo, as he took home the award in 2016. It’s the fourth time in history that the Gold Glove vote was tied.

Both Cubs right fielder Jason Heyward and second baseman Javier Baez were among the “Top Three” finalists for the award, but the Gold Glove at those positions went to the Braves’ Nick Markakis and the RockiesDJ LeMahieu.

The winners of the Rawlings Gold Gloves were as follows:

National League:

P—Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks

C—Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals

1B—Rizzo and Freeman


SS—Nick Ahmed, Arizona Diamondbacks

3B—Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

LF—Corey Dickerson, …Read the Rest

Source:: Bleed Cubbie Blue

You may also like...